Middle Atlantic Conferences



Division III


Sports fielded
24 (men’s: 12; women’s: 12)


Former names
Middle Atlantic States Collegiate Athletics Association
Middle Atlantic States Collegiate Athletic Conference

Annville, Pennsylvania



The Middle Atlantic Conferences (MAC) is an umbrella organization of three athletic conferences that competes in the NCAA’s Division III. The 18 member teams are in the Mid-Atlantic United States.
The organization is divided into two main conferences: the MAC Commonwealth and the MAC Freedom. A third conference — named the Middle Atlantic Conference — combines members from both conferences and is used for certain sports that only a smaller set of members participate in, such as track & field and cross country.


1 History
2 MAC football
3 Member schools

3.1 Commonwealth Conference
3.2 Freedom Conference
3.3 Former members

4 Sports

4.1 Middle Atlantic Conference

5 References
6 External links

In 1912, the Middle Atlantic States Collegiate Athletics Association (MASCAA) was founded primarily as a track association and had its first event, a track meeting, at Lafayette College in May 1913. In 1922, it was reorganized as the Middle Atlantic States Collegiate Athletic Conference (MASCAC or MAC). The original 13 members present at the formation meeting in 1922 were: Bucknell University, Drexel University, Franklin & Marshall College, Gettysburg College, Haverford College, Muhlenberg College, New York University, Princeton University, Rutgers University, Stevens Institute of Technology, Susquehanna University, Swarthmore College, and the University of Delaware.[1] In addition, another five members who were not present at the initial meeting but formally approved of the plan were: Columbia University, Johns Hopkins University, Lehigh University, Ursinus College, and Widener University.[1]
Throughout its history, the organization has had at least 50 different members associated with it. The conference had as many as 37 members at one time in the late 1950s.[1] A major reduction in the league occurred in 1974 after the NCAA created Divisions I, II, and III. At that time, 11 members left to form the Division I East Coast Conference and by 1976, the MAC became fully associated with Division III.[1] An additional 11 members left in 1992 to form